Watch live: Russia launching Progress cargo ship to space station @ 9:51 pm ET

In Space by Space.com StaffLeave a Comment

A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the 75th Progress cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station today (April 24), and you can watch it live online.

The Soyuz rocket will lift off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:51 p.m. EDT (0151 GMT on April 25). It will dock with the station about three hours later, at 1:12 a.m. EDT (0512 GMT).

You can watch a live webcast of the launch in the window above, courtesy of NASA TV, beginning at 9:30 p.m. EDT (0130 GMT). Live coverage of the docking on Saturday will begin at 12:30 a.m. EDT (0430 GMT).

NASA Television will provide live coverage of the launch and docking of a Russian cargo spacecraft delivering almost three tons of food, fuel, and supplies to the International Space Station beginning at 9:30 p.m. EDT Friday, April 24.

The uncrewed Russian Progress 75 is scheduled to launch on a Soyuz rocket at 9:51 p.m. (6:51 a.m. Saturday, April 25, Baikonur time) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

The spacecraft is expected to dock to the Earth-facing port of the Zvezda Service Module on the station’s Russian segment at 1:12 a.m. Saturday, April 25. NASA TV coverage of rendezvous and docking will begin at 12:30 a.m.

Progress 75 will remain docked at the station for more than seven months, departing in December for its deorbit into Earth’s atmosphere.

For almost 20 years, humans have lived and worked continuously aboard the International Space Station, advancing scientific knowledge and demonstrating new technologies, making research breakthroughs not possible on Earth. As a global endeavor, 239 people from 19 countries have visited the unique microgravity laboratory that has hosted more than 2,800 research investigations from researchers in 108 countries.

Find out what the astronauts and cosmonauts aboard the International Space Station are up to by tuning in to the “ISS Live” broadcast. Hear conversations between the crew and mission controllers on Earth and watch them work inside the U.S. segment of the orbiting laboratory. When the crew is off duty, you can enjoy live views of Earth from Space. You can watch and listen in the window below, courtesy of NASA.

“Live video from the International Space Station includes internal views when the crew is on-duty and Earth views at other times. The video is accompanied by audio of conversations between the crew and Mission Control. This video is only available when the space station is in contact with the ground. During ‘loss of signal’ periods, viewers will see a blue screen.

“Since the station orbits the Earth once every 90 minutes, it experiences a sunrise or a sunset about every 45 minutes. When the station is in darkness, external camera video may appear black, but can sometimes provide spectacular views of lightning or city lights below.”

Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Wait! Get Your Copy of Living Happy
Discover the art of Happiness with your FREE copy of Living Happy
I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
We respect your privacy
Order NEWDAWN Roamers Today!The first novel of the NEWDAWN Saga.

The prequel to the NEWDAWN Saga is ready to be purchased on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2RbKQX8 or in our store: www.newdawnshop.com.

Please don't forget to leave a review as they help with the sales of the book. Thank you for your support!

BUY NOW!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.